News Ticker

I ♥ forries :)

Forrester’s Arms is a bit of a legend to us Cape Town folk. I am sure that every single person living in the Southern Suburbs knows what Forries is all about. It’s a fab spot for after work drinks, weekend girly catch up lunches, quick bites to eat with our other halves and long boozy days out with friends and family.

I popped in there this weekend for a girly lunch with my friend (MM) and as usual, Forries delivered.

We started off with a bottle of Darling chenin blanc (R76) which was crisp and delish. It was a sunny, hot day and exactly what we needed after a long shopping morning 🙂 MM is a bit of a wine pro and she was bang on the money with this choice 🙂

Forries was buzzing (the norm) and there was a lovely mix of young and old. I love places that have a family sitting at one table and then a group of rowdy friends at the next. I think it brings a great atmosphere to the day.

We were ravenous after our shopping day so we didn’t waste time in ordering… MM ordered a chilli chicken pita (R65 – Chicken strips grilled in chilli and coriander, with added Feta and avocado, and a chilled cucumber yoghurt dressing) and I ordered the Smoked Fillet Carpaccio Pizza (R95 – Thinly sliced smoked beef fillet, cherry tomatoes, fresh rocket and basil pesto).

IMG_0257

IMG_0256

The food was great! I have to be honest, I haven’t really rated the food at Forries…other than their pizza which is out-of-this-world-good BUT I take it all back because I tasted the pita and it was YUM. Maybe I have just had off days in the past.

We ate until we were stuffed, ordered another bottle of wine and just chilled for a good few hours 🙂 There’s something about Forries that makes you sit a little longer than planned… a good 5 hour passed before we were ready to leave 😉

I have only one regret… we didn’t satisfy our sweet tooth!!! They have some yummy sounding puds on the menu and our waiter also told us about the special of the day, PUMPKIN cheesecake. I have never heard of that before??? Anyhoo we forgot to order anything – it may be because a few too many sips of wine were had… 😉

http://www.forries.co.za/
Tel: +27 (21) 689 5949

xxx

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. My first month :) | LOPVILLE LIVING…

Leave a Reply

