News Ticker

5 course wine pairing menu at The Square Restaurant

top_01

I have wanted to go to a wine and dine evening for the longest time. A full-on-fancy-pants one though. One that is held at a beautiful venue. One that will knock my socks off with flavour. One that will keep me sipping on wine all meal long. One that has a relaxed atmosphere while still being super elegant. Basically no pressure then 😉

Well… I am one spoilt girl because my wishes were answered when 2 of my specials surprised me for my birthday and treated me to the 5 course wine-pairing menu at The Square Restaurant at the Vineyard Hotel and it was amazing. The setting is beautiful with a high glass roof, modern hanging lights, lush indoor trees, tables and super cool high back chairs – the atmosphere is very intimate and relaxing. The service is excellent and our guy was so knowledgeable and on the ball with making sure we were happy. The wine pairings are delicious and the food is oh-so-good.

All the dishes was beautifully seasoned, fresh, tasty and deliciously perfect. My favourite dish of the night was the creamy pea orzo – each mouthful seemed to taste better and better. I almost picked up my plate to lick it when I was done. I could have had another 3 bowls it was that good. And of course the dessert. Because – CHOCOLATE!

The five course wine-pairing menu goes for R350 per person (including wine) or R210 per person (excluding wine).
You can contact The Square Restaurant on 021 657 4500 or e-mail eat@vineyard.co.za
See their full  five course wine-pairing menu over here.

xxx

And now – time to drool. I want to go back!

1

Camembert spring roll, raspberry sauce with a cucumber, pecan nut, apple and herb salad. Served with Klein Constantia Sauvignon Blanc 2012

3

Creamy pea orzo with sweet potato crisps, cottage cheese spheres, baby leaves. Served with Waterford Pecan Stream Sauvignon Blanc 2013

2

Sorbet

4

Ostrich fillet, crispy polenta, beetroot puree, fine beans, roasted artichokes, cherry jus. Served with Meerlust Red 2011

IMG_5123

Dark Lindt chocolate ganache terrine, Maldon salted caramel ice cream cone. Served with Simonsig Vin de Liza 2010

 

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The week in pictures ♥ (2014 #10) | LOPVILLE LIVING

Leave a Reply

