News Ticker

I DID IT!!!!!!!!!

Guys, I think you should sit down for what I am about to tell you… OK… ready??

I woke up at 6:20 this morning (I know what you’re thinking. It’s a Saturday – we should all still be sleeping at that ridonculous time… BUT I had places to go, people to see and a thing to do…. THE THING was my very first 5km run!!!)  so anyway, as I was saying, I got up at 6:20am, had a bath, got into my running gear and off I went – all the way to the Cape Peninsula University of Technology in Bellville where the Bonitas 10km race was taking place. I am not quite 10km running ready just yet so was pretty chuffed when Lop said we could still join in on the “fun” because  not only were they hosting a 10km run but there was also a 5km run for us beginners to “enjoy”.

I am not going to lie… I was SUPER nervous. We have only been training for our Zero to Hero challenge for 2 weeks and we haven’t come close to a 5km sesh on the road yet AND I have been dealing with SHIN SPLINTS sooooo the thought of a 5km run was JUST terrifying to me.

When it came time to go for it, I was still quite nervous but I am happy to report that we ROCKED! Ok,  I was a bit of a misery guts for like the first half of the run – Lop was a full on supporting machine… but all in all, we were strong, we were cool, we rock,rocked and I actually loved every.single.minute of it!! My breathing was like 100 times better than any other time I have run, my legs felt good, the vibe was great and my lop was an unreal force   throughout the run 🙂

Check it out… me & my very first medal…. for RUNNING 🙂

collage1

Bring on the next one!!!
xxx

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. My week in pictures ♥ (week 12) | LOPVILLE LIVING…

Leave a comment